Please use the comments section of this post to share stories about Marissa, both in the classroom and out of it.
Donna Hoefer
1/14/2014 09:55:09 am

Marissa Elliott was a remarkable person and a truly gifted teacher. She exuded such enthusiasm and passion in her teaching and interactions with her students. It was contagious, inspiring and engaging, it ignited her students. It seemed each time I saw her she always had a smile, she handled her responsibilities with grace. Kellogg and Shorecrest were truly blessed to have had such an incredible teacher. Her days were short on earth but long and rich in quality of life. Marissa will be missed beyond words can express.

Reply
J Semrau
1/15/2014 08:10:51 am

My grandson told me what a wonderful person and great teacher she was, and how he was looking forward to having her next year again. We are so saddened by her untimely passing. Thoughts and prayers are with her family.

Reply
Jessica Hoeper
1/15/2014 03:23:27 pm

My uncle had cancer and Ms. Elliott helped me through the entire process. When he died, I walked into her classroom (which was full of students) and told her he passed and started crying. She held me and consoled me until I called down, and then we just talked...about nothing and everything. Often while she was teaching and I had a free period I would walk her dog for her or go get coffee for her with my friends, Meg or Becca. I was so jealous I couldn't have her for a teacher in Kellogg, because I so wasn't smart enough for her class. But then she came to Shorecrest and I had the privilege to be taught by her. Even in college she stuck with me. In English 102 I was required to write about a person who impacted my life and it wasn't hard to choose who to write about. She didn't just teach me about English or debate or any of that. She taught me so much more. Her passing is a great loss...I will never forget my favorite teacher.

Reply
Denni Hovanes
1/16/2014 04:57:58 am

Marissa Elliot was one amazing teacher. When my daughter had her for English, along with some her other friends, I could tell by their reflected joy just how much she meant to them. They LOVED having her for teacher. She didn't just inspire them to be great students, but showed them you could be a smart, cool, wise, responsible adult and still have fun with English class and writing as well as with your job. Marissa, as a Smithie , also inspired my daughter to attend Smith College, which turned out brilliantly. There is great gratitude for all she gave and great sorrow at her passing. She was a rare gift to us all.

Reply
Margaret Stoermer
1/25/2014 01:51:26 am

Last year out of the blue, I asked my three kids who was their favorite HS teacher and without skipping a beat they all said Ms. Elliott. When I asked why, they agreed that she treated them as adults and respected them as individuals.

Reply
Vinnie Babauta
1/25/2014 06:00:49 pm

Ms. Elliot the first essayist who had inspired me to read and analyze great movies such as Gattaca and Good Will Hunting. Because of her I was able to open up to my classmates reading my essays out loud!

Reply
Molly
1/26/2014 01:44:37 am

I was only an acquaintance of Marissa's but she left the impression of being an extremely bright and beautiful woman. She also had an 'edge' that I liked. Wish I had been able to know her more. May she live through everyone she touched.

Reply
Shawna Tracy
1/9/2015 05:12:34 pm

I never had Marissa Elliot as a teacher when I was in Shorecrest, but I've heard great things about her. No one has said exactly how she passed away; if anyone knows, could you please let me know? I'm just curious.

Reply
Julene Olson Gradwohl
1/10/2015 06:49:27 am

Shawna, I was quite close to Marissa at the time of her passing. I think I can help you. Feel free to contact me through Facebook or my Email.

Julene

Reply



Leave a Reply.